Your Lead, Your Reason?

None Vul, IMPs, Dealer on your right opens 1S. You hold S9 H10962 D 852 C K97543. You Pass, 2S on the left, 3H by partner, Dbl = Game try by righty, 4H by you, 4S on your left, Dbl by partner. End.

Your lead? Your reason?

6 thoughts on “Your Lead, Your Reason?

  • July 4, 2017 at 10:06 AM

    Sorry, you only have 5 clubs. Please remove the C4 from your hand and give it to your opponent!

  • July 5, 2017 at 5:33 PM

    P is likely to have S length in this auction (and consequently short minors). Hence, I don’t see value in D lead. I will lead H in hope to punch declarer.

    If C tricks are available they should not go anywhere.

  • July 6, 2017 at 12:16 PM

    I trust rho , his game try x rules out the message “they are saving” that partners x meant ; this X should either wanting to bid on or saying ” we beat it if u find the lead “; my stiff x suggests the X meant the latter ( unless partner “saw” my stiff spade -a la Kitbitzer- and urged me to save !)
    I lead my club , hoping of riffs it and declarer cannot help losing a club later as well

  • July 7, 2017 at 12:48 AM

    This is essentially from a hand in the recently concluded Yeh Brothers — Netherlands vs India, Board 24, with some spot cards changed.

    The points to consider have to depend on the meaning of the double by partner. On the auction, you do not expect the contract to go down plenty, and so the double must be of the nature of directing the defence, and so likely lead directional — for a ruff.

    Partner is more likely to be short in clubs than diamonds, given you holding. But, if partner is short in clubs, you are likely to score some tricks there. The real danger is diamond shortness with partner. In this scenario, the CK can serve as an entry for the second ruff. So, you need to indicate this with the lead of your smallest diamond — d2.

    The dummy had 3-3-6-1 shape, and partner has to under-lead the club Ace to get a second ruff to beat the hand by a trick. 18 imps could have swung in your favor, on the lead of d2.

    • July 7, 2017 at 9:52 AM

      Neat. Thank you for the clear reasoning (and the instructive post)!

Leave a Reply